Spiritual communication – being aware of the ‘vulnerable’, and making people happy.

A very dear relative in the States was telling me yesterday how she once took her father, who was a real sceptic, to see a well – known medium in Florida. He believed that when you’re dead, you’re dead, but having lost very important people in his life, and facing ill health, my cousin wanted him to have hope……to be able to believe that physical death does not mean oblivion. And he was impressed. The lady in question, who is highly regarded, made it possible for him to believe that maybe he could look forward to something else, and that maybe his ‘lost’ loved ones were not actually lost to him.

She told me that I myself am a competent medium, and that I underestimate the little things that seem so insignificant to me, but are really meaningful to the client. For example, after her mother (my aunt) died, I passed on a snippet of information……..about bras! Apparently I mentioned that her mother ‘said’ that they did not know what to do with her bras……and this was exactly right. There were a number of almost new bras, but no – one could use them, and so they ended up going into the charity bag. Sceptics would say that that could be said about any woman who has died…..that she leaves bras behind, and someone has to decide where they end up! I suppose only the recipient of the communication can decide upon its validity.

My cousin said that that was the kind of thing she really needed to hear……and that others are the same, seeking small bits of info that are meaningful to them. I have never really appreciated that. There are many, many interesting things I have forgotten about…..some of which are coming back to me now…….from past mediumistic consultations. I moved away from that aspect of my work, uncomfortable with the airy – fairy stuff, and the idealistic claims, that sometimes come hand in hand with spiritual work……..bringing the sneerers and haters pouring out of the woodwork! The accusation of ‘preying on the vulnerable’ is one most mediums will have heard, at some point, I would imagine. And you know, it IS the vulnerable who worry me.

I watched the medium my cousin had visited, on Youtube, and she is a sincere and articulate woman. She did make one or two claims that made me cringe (I have heard these articulated by many, many ‘spiritual’ people over the years, and I still don’t enjoy hearing them!). However, her warmth, her conviction and her belief gave her an authenticity that cannot be denied. And real people, who have experienced real challenges, came away from her with a renewed sense of hope and happiness……not to mention relief. But the outpouring of emotion from some caused me to feel uncomfortable……and I have seen this same outpouring from audience members of TV mediums. The lady in question handles her clients’ emotional reactions very well, and it says something about me that I feel……inadequate, I would say…….when faced with similar responses. I don’t know if this lady ever experiences clients who are not satisfied with her service, or leave feeling they didn’t hear quite what they wanted to…….but the odds are that she has. And when this has happened to me, in the past, I have been very saddened, disappointed…..and again, left with a feeling of inadequacy.  Of failure. And the client has gone away with shoulders slumped, disappointment obvious, and an aura of “well, I tried it, but she couldn’t help me”. This has not been a regular occurence, I have to add…..but still, the ‘vulnerable’ leave feeling cheated and worse than before. And that’s no good.

I sincerely believe that my awareness, and yours, will continue beyond this physical world. I don’t doubt it at all. I wonder what people like Aryton Senna are doing or being……I cannot believe that the power of his spiritual energy (to me the spirit is the connection and relationship we develop with the great creative force of life …….with nature, the arts, invention, imagination, passion and striving) has faded away or come to an end. Life is so amazing, so challenging, so interesting, so BIG, that ‘death’ has to be incredible. It can’t just be about people floating around, free of pain (they wouldn’t have pain anyway, as they no longer have a physical body!), hanging around with all their also deceased family and friends, and/or following still living relatives around. I struggle to tell that story, but the truth is, it IS the kind of story the vulnerable/grief stricken want to hear. I don’t disagree with it completely……but I really want my clients’ to feel the AWE of the energy of ‘death’…….if that makes sense? But I also want to deliver what they can accept, and what they feel they need…….after all, what is wrong with making people happy? Oh, and here is the link for the excellent medium I have been referring to:   

http://www.elizabethpalin.com/Activities.html

Leave a Reply

