I ignored a prediction and paid the price! But SHOULD we listen?

Many, many years ago I was given a fairly specific prediction…….and I laughed it off (how often am I frustrated when clients do that to me!). Less than 6 months later the prediction came to pass. But I would not have remembered it if the person I told about it at the time, sneering at the idea, had not reminded me. I was gobsmacked. And in truth, the ‘happening’ was something I could have avoided……but looking back, I know that I would have deliberately and consciously chosen NOT to avoid it…….because of where I was at, in my mind, at that time. The fall – out was pretty big, and created some major ripples, I can tell you!

Some predictions are about things we have no control over. I remember telling a client that her son would marry his ex girlfriend. The lady was adamant that that would never happen…..and she didn’t want it to happen! However, that summer, the couple ran off and got married, without telling anyone.

Another client told me that she had completely dismissed most of what I said, during her previous consultation. I had explained that her daughter would split from her partner, go to university, meet someone else, and have a child. But within 36 months it had all occurred. Of course the prediction was not about her, and she could not have taken any avoiding action.

But you know, I prefer to offer predictions about things we DO have potential control over……about situations in which we have a choice. Otherwise they are nothing more than entertainment. And any prediction is only worth anything if it is taken into consideration.

For example, a few years ago I read for a ‘celeb’ who had been particularly popular in the 70’s, and his roadie, who I will call Bob. During the consultation I warned Bob about going into business with a man named Fred (I can’t remember the actual name, but you get the picture!). He called me weeks later to say that he and his brother had gone to meet with a man, with a view to buying into his restaurant, but without actually knowing his name. And you guessed it, it turned out to be Fred! Bob chose to let the opportunity go, based on what I had said, and his own gut instinct.

Another client was trying to figure out which man (out of 4!) could be a potential long term partner. This part of the story sounds a bit silly, but it is true (and she won’t mind me telling it)! I told her I could ‘see’ one man in particular spending the night with her…..I could see him walking round in his underpants! A few days later she called me to ask what colour the underpants were…..she had let a guy spend the night and she wanted to make sure he was the right one! Anyway, the said guy became a regular part of her life, but I told her that he had financial problems, and that she would find him to be moody and difficult, over time. She could not see how any of this could be true. He dressed nicely, always had money to spend, and seemed charming. However, as time passed by, and the ‘honeymoon’ period settled into something more real, she began to suspect that something wasn’t quite as it appeared. One day she went through his stuff, when he was out, and discovered he was in quite a lot of debt, paying weekly amounts to a number of creditors. She also discovered, after marrying him, just how difficult he could be……and she experienced a lot of tough years. In this case the predictions were acknowledged, but not accepted, and a particular pathway unfolded.

The art of prediction is a useful one, if understood and utilised. The combined forces of intuitive and logical analysis can really assist us as we manoevre our way through life. But the power of choice will always rule……..and it is experience alone that leads to genuine wisdom. One young lady told me, mournfully, that she wished she had listened to the predictions and insights I had given in an earlier consultation…….but is that true? Was the stuff she experienced, as a result of not listening, a valuable part of her personal journey, her evolution? Who can say for sure, but here is one of my favourite, cheesy bits of wisdom: If we do A, one thing happens, if we do B, another thing happens……and if we do the same thing again and again, we’ll just get more of what we’ve already got! If I am asked, I will tell…….but only the questioner can decide how to proceed!10408661_693080797473795_7615086403970725600_n Denise Linn

Leave a Reply

